Nikon AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 28-70mm f/2.8 IF-ED 35mm Zoom

Available At:
AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 28-70mm f/2.8 IF-ED

The AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 28-70mm f/2.8D IF-ED is a standard zoom lens designed for photojournalism and general photography. A built-in Silent Wave Motor, a Nikon exclusive, enables ultra fast and hushed auto-focus operation, and boosts the performance of Focus Tracking, qualities this lens an indispensable tool for fast-action photography

User Reviews (54)

Showing 1-10 of 54  
CooDeville   Expert [Dec 06, 2008]
Strength:

Accurate and fast focusing, color saturation, shaprness.

Weakness:

None

I've had my eye on this lens for a long time now and finally found a used one in B&H. Few and far between do you find any there. I've been inquiring about it at the Used department for at least 5 years now. This timethe salesman finally had one that was a store demo. Ironically, just as I decided to purchase it, another customer who was standing next to me asked for it as well.

I've used it on a Fuji S2 and also my F100. First thing I noticed was how fast this lens focuses. No hunting at all with either camera. It just does its thing. My results were outstanding. But I will base my results strickly on what the outcome was with my F100 sicne digital can be eaily altered in PS.

The image quality was as sharp as a tack. Color satauration was outstanding. I shoot a lot of automotive scenes so color is very important. The crystal clear results were outstanding. A film such as Velvia really comes out with mind blowing clarity and sharpness. I can honestly saythat I have never ever seen a lens give such outstanding results even at f/2.8. But in order to really get your best out of it, I would shoot at f/8. We all know the center of the glass is the sweet spot. I can't go witihout this lens now and I'm sure plenty of people have had the same thing happen to them

Similar Products Used: 35 - 70 F/4 - 5.6 Zeiss lens
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
lifanus   Expert [Nov 01, 2005]
Strength:

Build Sharpness Contrast Autofocus speed Quietness

Weakness:

Weight Filter Thread Size

Simply the best standard zoom lens, Sharp image, Excellent contrast, Ultra quite and fast AF-s

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
normyip   Professional [Mar 27, 2004]
Strength:

Build Fast Auto-focus

Weakness:

As explained above in the review.

I take a lot of wedding photography in Hong Kong, and before buying the Nikong ED-IF AF-S 28-70mm lens, I was using Nikon 35-70 F2.8 as my main lens. After reading glowing reviews about the 28-70mm convinced me that it was about time I got this lens. I started using this lens as my 'main' lens on one of my F100's and kept the 35-70mm lens on my back-up camera. After photographing about 12 weddings and reviewing the images, I started to notice that my photographs had lost some of it's brilliance and sharpness as taken on the new lens. Not really convinced and thinking it was my imagination, I decided to finally make a head to head test with equal setting of film, flash, etc. Everything identical except the lens. And the results were shocking. The 35-70 came out brighter and sharper than the 28-70. And we all know how expensive the 28-70mm lens is. I'm saddened to know that I paid such a bundle for this lens that doesn't match the consumer line 35-70mm. So strangely enough, this new more expensive lens will now be on my 'backup' camera.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Nikon 35-70mm F2.8 Nikon 80-200mm F2.8
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Available At:
tre44iou1   Professional [Feb 19, 2004]
Strength:

Very sharp,Top quality,Solid as a rock.

Weakness:

None

This lens is amazingly sharp with nice contrast, and rich color reproduction. This lens is the best you can get. Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Similar Products Used: Nikon 17-35mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF-S, Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED VR AF
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
graham price   Professional [Dec 07, 2003]
Strength:

Very sharp even wide open. High contrast. Seems to work really well with Nikon TTL flash (don't ask me why I've had problems with other lenses)

Weakness:

Not really weaknesses, just reality of a big lump of glass-expense & weight

I've owned most latest Nikon primes and zooms up to 200mm at one time or another. I thought that the prime D range would have to be better than ED zooms. This lens is the sharpest I've tested wide open. Better than my 85 and 50 primes. Stopped down it becomes exceptional. I am currently selling my remaining prime lenses on ebay. This is the best lens I have owned.

Customer Service

Nikon UK frighteningly slow, but helpful

Similar Products Used: Most Nikon Ds and EDs up to 200mm
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Carl Feather   Professional [Nov 27, 2003]
Strength:

Build quality, focuses fast but not accurately

Weakness:

Poor resolution, limited focus range

This lens is greatly overpriced for what it does and how it performs. The lens I bought has terrible corner resolution until f/8, at which point it performs like my 50mm f/1.8 at f/2.8. The lens is extremely heavy and well built, but that's about as much good as I can say about it. I have sent the lens back to Nikon and asked for one that lives up to its price. Pass on this lens and buy the 35-70 f/2.8 and a 28 or 24mm prime. You'll save money and have sharper images, less weight in the bag.

Customer Service

Still waiting

Similar Products Used: Nikkor 28-70 f/3.5-4.5, a much better lens; 35-70 f/2.8, a far superior lens for 1/3 the price!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
L Chan   Casual [Nov 20, 2003]
Strength:

* A piece of nice glass produced by Nikon * Fast and slient AF

Weakness:

* Bulky * Expensive

This len is amazingly sharp with nice contrast, and rich color reproduction. The len looks bulky (esp. with the hood), and some time scare people off when making snap-shoot. AF-S offers fast and accurate auto-focusing with minimum noise. The handling is good for zooming and manual-override of AF.

Customer Service

-

Similar Products Used: Nikon AF 80-200 f2.8ED Nikon AF-S 17-35 f2.8ED Nikon AF 24-120 3.5-4.5D Nikon AF 35-70 3.5-4.5 Sigma AF 18-35
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Russell Dean   Intermediate [Apr 29, 2003]
Strength:

Build quality and excellent picture producing lens.

Weakness:

Price. But then again this is a pro lens.

This lens is wonderful producing nice tack sharp pictures with great contrast. This lens is on the expensive side, but if you are a profectionist with desiring flawless pictures, then this lens is for you. Build quality is excellent.

Customer Service

Have not used.

Similar Products Used: Nikon 80-200 f/2.8 Nikon 300 f/4 Nikon 35 f/2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
xulec   Beginner [Apr 17, 2003]
Strength:

Fast. Solid.

Use the lens with Nikon D1 for about a year, it's good for almost everyting. The sharpness and contrast they achieve in B&W mode is amazing. Please note that D1 has already got a 1.5 focal factor built in. Put this lens on a film camera, and you get the image quality you've always dreamed of.

Similar Products Used: AF-S 17-35mm AF-S 80-200mm
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Frans Leerdam   Intermediate [Feb 17, 2003]
Strength:

Good balance on D1X Excellent glass, very very sharp.

Weakness:

Besides of the high price in Europe: None weaknesses.

Very nice lens in combination with the 17-35/2.8 AFS. My most used lens on my D1X. My first lens I bought and really love this. Very nice D.O.F. Built like a tank, feels excellent on D1X. Very well balanced.

Similar Products Used: Nikor 17-35/2.8 AFS Nikor 70-200/2.8 AFS VR IF ED Nikor 60 micro/2.8 Nikor 50/1.4 Nikor 300/4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 54  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com