Tamron Adaptall SP 28-105mm f/2.8 LD Aspherical (IF) 35mm Zoom

Available At:
Adaptall SP 28-105mm f/2.8 LD Aspherical (IF)

Manual focus - Adaptall mount

This lens establishes a benchmark as a standard lens, extending from a wide 28mm all the way to 105mm telephoto, all with a fast constant 2.8 maximum aperture. The use of four large diameter aspherical elements and three LD glass elements reduces various aberrations while minimizing the fall-off of light at the corners.

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
Manual Man   Intermediate [Jan 20, 2011]
Strength:

Solid and well manufactured. Sharp thrpoughout its range period. Web reviewers marked the AF as being soft in the long end and that's not this lens. Used value is on the high end so on the value scale it's a 3 but overall a 5 for expectations

Weakness:

Obviously people confuse it with a later AF version so it gets rated unfairly?

Excuse me but this lens is the Tamron SP 28-105mm F2.8 Adaptall 2 is it not? A manual focus lens? Some reviews done are for the AF version which is obviously not this lens at all.

To add more comedy to the reviews? Some of the ones reviewing it as the AF version sound as if they are copying reviews already done on the AF version by publications?

When you run into this sort of thing and the fact that the wrong lens is being reviewed then it certainly retracts from over-all crediability of the site doesn't it?

This is a very decent lens. Try and find one in nice condition and you'll see it is priced a lot higher then many other versions of SP Adaptall 2 lenses on the market. There is a very good reason and it speaks for itself. (NOTHING about the AF version is stated here by me, pro or con it simply is not this lens being reviewed only)

Similar Products Used: 28-105 Nikkor another victim of copy and paste reviewers.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Available At:
oldsouthphoto   Expert [Nov 24, 2007]
Strength:

Fast aperature, zoom range, and sharpness.

Fantastic lens. Sharp, I have had 3. The first was stolen with my Fuji S1. The second sits on my Canon 5d and the last on sits on my Nikon F5. This lens with its fast aperature and zoom range is a must for every photographer. When I shoot weddings - no one questions if I am using something they might have.

I have read others examples have had some softness. The only thing I have noticed is some slight chromatic abberation. This lens is sharp. Buy the cleanest one you can find!

Tamron glass has always rivaled manufacturers lenses and this one is no exception.

Customer Service

Never needed!!

Similar Products Used: I wish it were metal. Some complain of weight - I believe bigger is better.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JarinBlaschke   Professional [Nov 16, 2007]

I inherited this lens along with a Canon 20D. This has a good range of focal lengths, and is valuable as far as having a 2.8 aperture on a zoom. However, I've found this to be a fairly soft lens, especially at the longer focal lengths, where it becomes a real dog. When you get into the telephoto range, it takes on a smeary, somewhat vaseline look that I found abhorrent. Don't let the word "Aspherical" sway you - the only cheap way to produce an aspheric element is to make it from plastic.

Similar Products Used: Canon zooms for digital formats
Nikon and Zeiss primes for 35mm


Nikon F3
Canon 20D
Hasselblad 500CM
Hasselblad XPan
Contax RTSII
Contax 645
Toyo and Wisner 4x5, Schneider optics, Dagor lenses, Protar lenses
Motion picture optics - Zeiss, Cooke, Panavision
etc,etc
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
kool100vr4   Intermediate [Jan 14, 2006]
Strength:

big build, nice looking, great optics..sharp results.......

Weakness:

rubber zoom ring comes lose, i glued it back.lens so big, it blocks buildin flash.

i bought this lens used.in great shape..my 1st impression was WOW!!!dude!!*&^, its so big,its gigantic, massive size may the biggest in its range, the build is all plastic, but solid, can you imagine if this lens was made all metal?, it would weigh 10lbs..the petal hood is also massive or giant size too..but in all the lens will stick out so much, that you would never can hide..people will be freaked out when see it..its bigger than most cam bodies.. the performance is also great..optics are fantastic..i understand that this is 1 of tamron best build..a new lens comes with 6 yrs warranty..af focus is normal fast, abit noisy,sometime slow in dark..but thats same with many canons and nikons too, ive sold canon 28-135mm IS, and nikon 24-120mm to replace with this. these 2 lenses were not good enough for me..i also have tamron 24-135mm f3.5 too.. i use this tamron 28-105mm on my fuji s2 pro,pics turn out great,i use it on tripod, and i can see all details contrast..and sharpness is razor sharp..light distortion,neutral colors..always try to shoot step down f stops.. this lens new can be up to 1,000$..buy it used on ebay for about 300$..

Customer Service

1 email in 24hrs respond.tamron claimed theres 2 models of this lens were made, but only on cosmetic diff not performance..

Similar Products Used: nikon 28-105mm f3.5,24-120mm, canon 28-135mm is.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
adre   Expert [Oct 22, 2004]
Strength:

well detailed pictures, high resolution lens, made for indoor photography well exposed

Weakness:

AF is slow, misses targets, overxeposure when using outdoors,

I think I got a useful lens, many people complain about the softness at 2.8, well, many lenses do have the same prblem. Just use a bit higher aperture. The Tamron AF misses often times viewfinder targets, is quite slow, bulky and heavy, but this lens has a superb high resolution, pictures are well detailed, if you know how to adjust exposure settings in your camera.

Similar Products Used: EF28/2.8, EF50/1.8
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul MDH   Intermediate [May 13, 2003]
Strength:

sharpnes, fast zoom, great colors,

Weakness:

heavy, filtersice 82mm

This is realy a great lens, it is fast and focuses tack on with very sharp and contrasty results, I´m using it with my CANON eos 10d and it works in every setting without any problems I´m shure that those who have negative expirences must have gotten faulty ones.

Customer Service

No reason

Similar Products Used: tamron 28-300 xr,canon 28-135 usm miranda 50, G2, coolpix 5700
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
glen baldwin   Intermediate [Nov 17, 2002]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

soft, costly, odd size requiring costly filters, etc., etc.,

For the price paid, a consistantly soft lens with poor color quality. Addition of costly polarizer no help. My only other 3d party lens was a Tokina lens 28-80 and very sharp - so I am not down on these. Will sell lens and look for better one than this dog.

Customer Service

Wish I could send it back, but those are the breaks - Caveat Emptor!

Similar Products Used: Tokina 28-80 2.8-3.6
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
kansasguy   Professional [Nov 02, 2002]
Strength:

great range and speed

Weakness:

terrible distortion and softness

I purchased this lens for the range and speed. I have never liked the lens, as it has always seemed soft. I almost sent it in for repair thinking it was defective. I recently purchased a fuji s2. I have to manually fucus it to get every ounce of sharpness I can. I have borrowed other photographers lenses to test with, and they are tack sharp, even letting it autofocus. After reading lab test reports, I am selling it. For the time being, I won't be buying any third party lenses.

Customer Service

na

Similar Products Used: nikon zooms
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
David   Intermediate [Aug 13, 2002]
Strength:

Impressive size will draw attention of others.

Weakness:

Heavy. Big glass, at 82mm, filters are extremely expensive. Poor Performer when compared to toher lenses of this nature.

Horrible lense. Extremely soft focus.Pictures lack detail.

Similar Products Used: minolta 28-85, Minolta 70-210/F4, 24-50/F4
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
tdp   Intermediate [Jul 25, 2002]
Strength:

Bright and sharp view, anti slip mode (holds focus and focal extension firmly, solid construction

Weakness:

82mm filters - 82mm lens diameter - bulky Attracts dust on outer surface

Consistant, corner to corner, sharp, contrast and even performance at all aperatures. People, animal, landscape shots are excellent. I have enlarged 1/3 of the negative/slide to over 13 x 17 inches with 100 asa film and it shows remarkable hair fine detail. A very SHARP Lens

Customer Service

None Required

Similar Products Used: Nikon 28-105 3.5 , Nikon 70-180 AF micro, Nikon 28-70mm F2.8 AFS, Nikon 80-200 AFS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com