Manfrotto 3265 Grip Action Ball Head Tripod Heads and Accessories

3265 Grip Action Ball Head

User Reviews (29)

Showing 1-10 of 29  
j burkhardt   Professional [Feb 19, 2010]

need two top plate for the 3265 grip action ballhead bogen manfrotto

Customer Service

need two get some top plates for mybogen manfrotto 3265 grip action ballhead

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
WILLIAM   Intermediate [Mar 08, 2009]
Strength:

QUICK ACTION

Weakness:

HEAD SLIPS ON BALL NO MATTER HOW TIGHT OR LOOSE THE SCREW IS.

HAVE HAD THIS HEAD 5 YEARS. LOVE THE PISTOL ACTION. HOWEVER, HEAD IS NOW SLIPPING IN ANYTHING BUT VERTICAL OR FULL HORIZNTAL. SAME ACTION/HOLD WHEN FULLY TIGHT OF FULLY LOOSE.

Customer Service

NONE

Similar Products Used: NONE
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Galan   Professional [Jan 14, 2007]
Strength:

Versatility and ease of use.
It has adjustable pressure on the ball so can accommodate a variety of lens sizes and camera setups.
Positive locking... once in place, it wants to stay put.

Weakness:

Not for everyone. it is not an Arca-Swiss but within reason it can support most lenses up to perhaps a 300mm with satisfactory results.
the locking lever has some play so if not put in properly, the device might not hold but I don't blame the grip as much as I would the photographer... my failings have been my failing to insure the lock was fully seated.

I have solved one issue with my tripods in that they, for the most part are limited utilization pieces of equipment ie. tripods with locking legs and a center. Putting the #3265 ball head onto my Bogen Benbo #1 Cantilever type tripod gives me total control over the environments I often frequent.

The #3265 ball head is fast to position, has NEVER released my camera or lens when using the provided locking lever (I have tried the 600mm F/4 Nikkor but it cannot handle that kind of weight - though it DID NOT drop the lens).

What I do like about this pistol grip style arrangement is it's ease of use, speed in setting up and the ability to make reasonable presets for critical macro shots with a minimum of effort although I will say it does take some getting used to using over the traditional ball head designs which are a nightmare compared to this.

Customer Service

Bogen has been exemplary for me. I have contacted them for parts to do minor repairs with nothing but positive help and support

Similar Products Used: I have not seen anything similar.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Kevin Mac   Intermediate [Aug 05, 2004]
Strength:

Great design, so easy to use! Rugged construction has put up with my abuse for years.

Weakness:

The scope is always loosening off the quick release plate. It is not smooth- there has always been jumps and sticks when using. You can actually get hand fatigue when scanning for long periods of time.

I've used this head for about 7 years on my spotting scope. It was the perfect solution for my small manfrotto tripod that was too short for me. It provided an extra 4 inches of height over the head provided with the tripod. It is also very easy to use and quick to get the scope on the subject.

Customer Service

not used

Similar Products Used: Bogen 486 compact
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
TwoBoy   Expert [Dec 26, 2003]
Strength:

Very accurate and positive feel. Ideal for speed.

Weakness:

You have to get used to using the locking pin each time otherwise sooner or later you will drop your camera.

Fitted to the Manfrotto 055CL provides a nice stable platform. I use it with a Sigma 50~500 and 10D.

Customer Service

Not needed.

Similar Products Used: 1st pistol grip.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
tom_darnall   Professional [Mar 24, 2003]
Strength:

Intuitive, fast, relatively light

Weakness:

Not suitable for heavy cameras or lenses, not very stable in vertical shooting position, gripping ability degrades over time.

Well-designed pistol grip ballhead. If you know what kinds of cameras (and positions) work well with this product, for many 35mm/digital and light 2-1/4 uses, it is a joy to work with. I'm on my second one; the ball grip started slipping a bit after 1-1/2 years of heavy use. I use it with 35mm and Mamiya 7II cameras, with relatively lightweight lens rigs. Use with Bogen carbon-fiber tripod.

Customer Service

Never tested it.

Similar Products Used: Traditional smaller ballheads.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Chaucer Wells   Professional [Mar 17, 2002]
Strength:

solid construction

Weakness:

First, it is VERY unstable for doing anything other than horizontally framed shots; using this mount to do vertically framed shots creates all sorts of problems with tripod balance and stability. This problem is compounded greatly if you are using a heavy flash or a large lens. Additionally, I had chronic problems with the tripod head not gripping the latch plate firmly. I tried several different latch plate''''s, but it had problems with all of them. If I wasn''''t picky about maintaining a grip on my camera strap, this head would have dumped my camera on the ground at least half a dozen times. The head does have a locking pin for securing the latch plate lever, and I learned the hard way that the latching mechanism could not be trusted without the pin in place (I swap cameras back and forth from the tripod head frequently, so fiddling with the pin was an unwelcome additional step). I finally gave up and traded it in on another tripod head.

Unfortunately, this tripod head did not work out at all for me for a variety of reasons. If you use a light camera setup and don''''t need to do any vertical shots, it works great. Otherwise, proceed with caution.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Nikon User   Intermediate [Feb 08, 2002]

Simply outstanding. It helped to produce excellent photos - very sharp and high contrast. There was never a concern about stability or ease of use when mated with my Manfrotto 190CLB/ Bogen 3001D tripod. My full review of the pair is under tripods -Bogen 3001D (same date). Moreover, this was achieved when using my Nikon F100 camera with a Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8 constant zoom lens (nearly 2.5kg of expensive camera gear).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Shanu Lokhandwala   Intermediate [Aug 03, 2000]
Strength:

Fast
Very easy set-up and smooth operation
It works excellent with
a monopod

Weakness:

Not very safe with heavy lens...but i think that's expected

I love it! It's convient for quick photography where really planning shots is not appropriate or possible. It let's me enjoy walking around observing moments...and then just position and shoot, as though it was one step. Buy one for your monopod!

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Ball heads
Geared heads
etc
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Hutzler   Intermediate [Aug 03, 2000]
Strength:

Simple to use and set-up. One hand quickly selects your camera angle

Weakness:

May be a bit tall

A great action ball head that only requires one hand to use. The tension dial works but several turns are required for small adjustments. Visit your local camera shop and try it. You will buy it!

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used: Other ball heads in the show room
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 29  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

photographyreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com